July 12, 2011

It has been another week. I can’t believe it. I think I am addicted to papaya….and Guava. Guava is a lot less sweet in its original form. Both papaya and guava kind of remind me of mangos or peaches, although guava is a little more tart and firm. The other day I looked up and saw two men hanging on ropes on the side of a sky scraper next to us, painting it green. it looked like a fun job, and they were fast! There are a lot of sky scrapers here, but many of them are just apartment complexes where people live and hang their landry out the window to dry and all that good stuff. I will be out in the field in two weeks!!!! There are a whole lot of Elders going with me, about 11 Americans and at least that many Brazilians. They are all super nice gentelmen so you’ll know I’ll be safe and sound all the way there. I had the opportunity to teach a man who wasnt a member. This last week. He came with his Member friends to TRC where we practice teaching on volunteers, and when our teachers found out that he really wasnt a member, they were super excited. They helped out with the lesson, but I did have the first vision memorized in Portuguese so I was able to look him in the eyes and say it with all my heart. The spirit was there when I finished. It was super cool. I never knew it before, but there is something special that happens when you tell the First Vision story in a lesson. The spirtit is always there to back up your testimony and choak you up. It surprised me at first because I’ve always just taken Joseph Smith as a given and never been emotional about him before, but now… every time, I feel it, and it’s intense. Maybe its part of the Mantle of being a missionary… The Brazilian sisters here amaze me. There arent very many of us, but every week about ten more come and about ten leave to the field. Many of them have only been members for a few years and were baptized by American missionaries just like me who spoke very broken Portuguese. Many of them come from broken families or are the only member in their family. They are incredible. People here are just like people in the U.S…. except friendlier and warmer I think. It is fun to get hugs from the sisers and kisses on the cheek. I love you all! the church is True!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Vanessa on July 13, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    This is an awesome idea to document your mission!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rachael Sparhawk on July 13, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    This is awesome!! I am excited to follow along. You are going to be an amazing missionary!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Carolyn Seeholzer on July 16, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    It sounds like you are doing wonderful! I’m so happy for all the opportunities you are having to teach the gospel to those who do not have it. I know the Lord will continue to bless you in your efforts. You are an amazing YW & missionary! Thank you for your kind note, it meant alot to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

