Simple Truths

Jailson and Jaquelini were confirmed yesterday. I was so nervous in Sacrament meeting, but they showed up and their confirming blessings were so beautiful. I really felt the Spirit and the Lord’s love for them. Jaquelini’s Mom didn’t want to watch the Baptism even though she lives across the street because her religion believes that everyone is a Prophet and can tell each other’s future and she didn’t like the baptism that she watched with Jaquelini two weeks ago. It made me super sad, but Jaquelini is such a dear, I’m happy for her and proud of her. They have a saying her in Manaus that you will find and come to know God, “Se não for amor, vai ser pelo dor” “if not through love, than though pain. Jaquelini has had some rough health problems and so she quoted this for us, but in her confirmation it was promised that she would have her health to do what she needs to do.

Jailson almost wasn’t baptised because his little God child died last week and he was super torn up about it. But, we acted quickly and went straight to his house after we got off the phone with him and were able to have a miracle lesson with his neighbor Dymmon who is a member and everything worked out all right in the end.

We were able to go to a special mission conference held by Elder Mazzagardi of the 70 this week. It was totally last minute, we only found out the night before and so there was no time to counsel our morning appointments. Our district leader said that it was optional. My companion said that she had already heard him and so didn’t mind staying home and so left the choice up to me. I was miserable, stuck between a rock and a hard spot. I didn’t want to break my word and not show up to our appointment with Castro and I didn’t want to miss this opportunity, so I went to sleep praying about it.

Then the peace came. I thought back to times in my life when I had been more true to my word and committments than to those in the moment promptings to change my plans. I realized that this meeting was last minute because Elder Mazzagardi was following his spiritual promptings and counseling things to act in the moment and give us some counsel. And I thought of our lesson with Castro and how we had planned to teach him about Joseph Smith and prophets. I thought, “How can I testify that I know we have a living Prophet and the authority of God here on the earth if I am not willing to put aside everything to listent to it?” And I knew that we just had to go.

Things worked out just right. It was powerful and when it was half way over, my companion thanked me for insisting that we go. The next day, I was able to bear testimony to Castro about prophets and show him a conference picture of the Prophet with the 12 and 70 and a photo of Elder Mazzagardi from the Conference ensign. I know we have men inspired of God here on the earth and am so greatfu for the opportunity we have to hear their counsel. If you weren’t able to hear the Christmas church fireside, look it up on LDS.org and give it a listen.

D&C 62:3 “Nevertheless, ye are blessed, for the testimony which ye have borne is recorded in heaven for the angels to look upon; and they rejoice over you, and your sins are forgiven you.”

This scripture is a promise for all members of the Church. Elder Mazzagardi testified of it to us. I would invite you all, if you are feeling the burden of life and your personal weaknesses, to bear testimony of the simple truths you know. Bear testimony that you know Christ lives and that we have a Savior here on the earth. You will feel lighter and it won’t just be a feeling, it will be a reality.

I love you all, may your week be blessed! Thankyou for the prayers! 🙂

Sister Thompson

Leave a Reply

