Living by the Spirit

Dear Family,

Here are some photos of our chapel. It’s huge huh! All the chapels here in Brazil are like this. They are beautiful, but it’s no wonder people who pass by think that our church is the church of rich people. I’m not sure exactly why they are so big but I have to say they are about the sturdiest, well build buildings you will see here. Our apartment is on the same busy street as the chapel.

“Neglect not the gift that is in thee, which was given thee by prophecy with the laying on of hands..” 1 Timothy ch 4
This week, I’ve been comparing my life on the mission with my life before and I’ve made a discovery. They are not so very different as you might think! The biggest difference is that with the mission rules, I’m not doing anything to drive the Spirit away like I would in regular day to day life. The Spirit desperately wants to stay with us and help us because it’s His job. When we were confirmed members of the church, he was assigned to look after us. It reminds me a little bit of Lion King. Little Simba is always trying to get away from the bird Zazoo who his father has given charge to protect and look after him…to be his conscience so to speak. Every single one of us have a personal Zazoo. Are you taking care of yours or avoiding him?

There are so many moments in our life when we should make a little change, a little course correction, but instead we drown out the thoughts and impressions with distraction. We watch movies or TV shows that we know are below the standards of decency, we listen to music that doesn’t invite the Spirit. We shirk a opportunity to lift and cheer those struggling next to us, even if they are our own family members. I’m just remembering my own personal experiences, but it’s scary to think how quickly we can loose our sensitivity. Sometimes I really miss watching movies and listening to music out here. This part is a bit hard for all us missionaries because we are a generation of media addicted youth. However, when I remember how good it feels to know that The Spirit is with me, looking out for me and walking by my side, I am grateful for the wise leaders who have asked us to make the trade. It’s worth it. It opens the doors to enjoy more profoundly the simple things in life and to overcome personal weakness because there is nothing to distract us from fulfilling the measure of our creation in communication. This includes being honest with yourself and the Lord, and your companion.

I believe in miracles. I believe we don’t have to be perfect to be worthy of them. We just have to have enough faith; faith in Christ that He can and always will make up the difference. I am so happy that Grandpa is getting better. I was thinking about him this last week. I’ve been thinking about all the little what ifs that could change our lives. I remember being a little kid and asking myself “what if Dad lived next door” and thinking how nice it would be to have both my parents in the same city. I never thought it would happen, but one day, it did. I believe Grandpa can get better. I believe each one of us can and will make a place for ourselves in this world where we can feel peace and spiritually, mentally, emotionally and socially fulfilled. If we will start to make an extra effort to serve each other, it will happen. I believe old wounds can heal. I believe that through the Atonement they can be wiped away without leaving scars. I love each and every one of you and am grateful for this moment.

love,

Sister Thompson

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Carolyn Seeholzer on February 8, 2012 at 2:18 am

    I love reading your letters, they are so profound & inspirational. I can tell you really do have the spirit with you. What a wonderful missionary you have become! Keep up the good work, and may the Lord continue to bless you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

