May 14, 2012

I am learning to like cold showers. Now that it is the rainy season here, the water is a lot colder, but it’s refreshing. A month or so ago, I took a hot shower while we were staying at the other sister’s house and I actually didn’t like it. Yeah… it was a surprise. Some people have a little heater they hook up to the faucet to heat the water as it comes out, but it’s just for showers and most don’t.

I learned how to flag down a lotacão car the correct way today. My companion pointed out that I have been waving down the taxi cars in such a way that all the other cars think I am trying to stop traffic. It was kind of a funny realization.

It was incredible talking to you all yesterday!!!! It’s weird to think that the next time we see face to face, it will be for real. The mission is teaching me a lot about patience. It’s worthwhile to develop this attribute because it helps us be more centered, happy, focused and at peace with ourselves and the world around us.

We were able to Baptize a darling little girl named Thamyris yesterday. She is 8 years old and has been begging her less active mom and sister for months now. She is such a beacon for her family. The baptism was held right after sacrament meeting and we were super sad because everyone was leaving and no one was staying to see her Baptsim (probably because it was mother’s day) We flagged down some members and asked them to stay. I sang “I am a child of God” and she played the recorder while I sang. I saw a few wet eyes in the crowd even though we were out of sink for a few lines (I slowed down and we finished together) It was a wonderful day and we felt the Spirit really strongly. I love being a missionary. Thankyou for praying for me and Sister Cortez.

We are going to start physical therepy for my companion tomorrow. When I write again, it will be from Manaus!

love you lots,

Sister Thompson

Leave a Reply

